Teaching Kindergarten…I’m Through With Time Out And Pulling Cards

Love that this author came to the realization that incentives/disincentives don’t work! It’s all about the environment we create and behaviors we expect, practice and reinforce.

My Story, My Song

Or moving pins, or giving conduct checks, sad faces, stars, whatever you want to call it.

I’m through with it, and I have ten years of reasons to share with all of you cringing teachers right now! I know what you’re thinking. Her class is probably a circus. It’s a zoo. She’s crazy. She must be tired.

And the truth is, after ten years, yes I am tired.

I’m tired of trying to keep up with “who did what” at the end of the day. I’m tired of feeling frustrated when the one kid keepslosing all of his cards and doesn’t even care that he pulled them all. I’m tired of sending the same girl to timeout every day, only to have her sit there and stew and plan her revenge on me.

I’m tired of sending the same notes home to the same parents, recounting all the wrongs of…

View original post 1,205 more words

Leave a Reply

